Cancel

When The Reaper Comes

by John L. DeBoer

4 Reviews

When The Reaper Comes
Paperback  
$19.99 19.99
Special Item Info Text
View Product Details
add to cart
save for later
Select Wishlist
Everyone (Public)
Just You (Private) - Sharing is Disabled
Select a Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Advertising
Overview

Overview

When The Reaper Comes by John L. DeBoer

As the NSA gets a strong lead on one of the most prominent faces of ISIS, the Islamic State embarks on a bold course of action-an attack on American soil.

Former Navy SEAL Adam Taylor, on a break between assignments for a global paramilitary security firm, is visiting his folks in his home town when he gets a new mission-provide security for a rock star who is in town for a St. Patrick's Day concert. Unknown to Adam, a team of American ISIS soldiers will soon arrive with a plan to wreak havoc on the Jersey Shore, and Adam will get caught up in a deadly game of wits between the terrorist menace and those tasked to protect the citizens of the homeland.

Show More
Product Details
ISBN-13:
9781625264718
9781625264718
Publisher:
Solstice Publishing
Solstice Publishing
Publication date:
11/04/2016
Pages:
328
328
Product dimensions:
5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 0.69(d)
Show More
Customer Reviews (4)
With terrorism being such a terrifying but also fascinating concep ...
With terrorism being such a terrifying but also fascinating concept, and is executed very well in this novel by John L. DeBoer. This was a book recommended by a friend of mine who knows I’ve enjoyed books by authors such as Tom Clancy is the past. I have to say even though I hadn’t heard of DeBoer previously, When the Reaper Comes did not fail to deliver. The writing is pacey and punchy, much as you’d expect in an action thriller, and the plot has enough twists and surprises to keep you in that ‘just one more page’ mindset, so that I slept in for work one day after reading too late the night before. I suppose that in itself is a ringing endorsement, so make sure you allow enough time before embarking on this page-turner yourself.
- Bibliophanatic
June 6, 2017
DeBoer started WHEN THE REAPER COMES off strong. Immediately I was ...
DeBoer started WHEN THE REAPER COMES off strong. Immediately I was taken in. Terrorism is definitely a relevant topic for readers this day and age, especially when the terrorists are American citizens plotting an attack in New Jersey. I like that the reader is given a well-rounded picture of all the different agencies involved in scenarios like this, even the POV of the terrorists. I think by allowing the reader into the mind of the terrorists, mostly the team leader, it makes them more human. Then again, it felt like it gave the reader too much and left no real meaning to when Adam and the rest of the team realize what is going on. But I was absolutely compelled to keep reading, no matter how sleepy I was. As for the actual violence in the book, it wasn't as in-your-face violent as I expected from a terrorist book, but that's a compliment. Violence actually shown and not just talked about was in minute instances until the big stand-off. All in all, a good read.
- ashewriter
June 8, 2017
Disclaimer: You know it; don't make me type it out. When the Reap ...
Disclaimer: You know it; don't make me type it out. When the Reaper Comes, authored by John L. DeBoer, is an exciting action/suspense/thriller pitting American security experts against American born terrorists. The bad guys (that would be the terrorists) want to make a statement while killing a popular musician who said things about terrorists that they didn't like. The good guys are the security agents assigned to protect the musician. A lot of supporting characters (on both sides) come together in a compelling chess game. Advantage shifts between players continuously, each trying to guess their opponents next move. Both sides are smart so the story shifts back and forth keeping the reader hooked. Like a chess game, targets come and go with the flow of events. Twists, turns, surprises, and questionable alliances abound. The positive and negative in this story is the same; It is an extremely plausible plot. As the reader, I never said to myself, "that could never happen". The scary thing is that it really could happen, and there are so many variables which could lead to many different outcomes. Violence (hello, terrorists), suspense, intrigue, and a bit of romance keeps this a taut, spellbinding, and eminently entertaining read. When the Reaper Comes, by John L. DeBoer is a scary story that could be actually happening as you read it. I'll admit it scared me in a way that I'm not used to. If you like your thrills and chills on the more plausible and realistic side, When the Reaper Comes will get your blood pumping. Enjoy! Mike
- theaterofthemind
March 23, 2017
Show More Reviews 
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING details
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

  • Advertising
    Share
    When The Reaper Comes
    Related Products
    2012 International Thriller Award NomineeJake Reese is a writing teacher at an American university. He ...
    2012 International Thriller Award NomineeJake Reese is a writing teacher at an American university. He lives in a small brick Tudor close to campus with his art buyer wife, Diane. His life is quiet — ordinary even. And he likes ...
    Worldbreakers do not think, do not feel and cannot be stopped.Captain Gabriel Reinhardt’s latest mining ...
    Worldbreakers do not think, do not feel and cannot be stopped.Captain Gabriel Reinhardt’s latest mining mission has been brought to a halt by the arrival of a Worldbreaker, one of the vast alien machines that destroyed Earth and its solar ...
    The third volume of the complete GrimJack, by the legendary team of John Ostrander (Suicide ...
    The third volume of the complete GrimJack, by the legendary team of John Ostrander (Suicide Squad, Star Wars, Deadshot, Martian Manhunter, Spectre) and Tom Mandrake (Batman, Martian Manhunter, Spectre, Firestorm). Reprinting issues 31 through 56 as originally published by the ...
    Irish author John Connolly delivers the third novel in his bestselling, critically acclaimed series featuring ...
    Irish author John Connolly delivers the third novel in his bestselling, critically acclaimed series featuring troubled ex-cop turned detective Charlie Parker.John Connolly takes battered ex-cop Charlie Parker on his third outing after Every Dead Thing and Dark Hollow. Still struggling ...
    Let's Celebrate Confirmation! How the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit Lead to Sainthood explores ...
    Let's Celebrate Confirmation! How the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit Lead to Sainthood explores each of the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit and inspires teens and pre-teens to greatness by llustrating how God's priests, prophets and kings lived ...
    This third book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and ...
    This third book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.Tom a.k.a. the Great Brain, is off to boarding school.  Now his little brother, ...
    “A throw-back style detective novel that readers of all stripes should pay attention to.” —Los ...
    “A throw-back style detective novel that readers of all stripes should pay attention to.” —Los Angeles Times Christopher just needed a job to kill time the summer after graduation. He didn’t expect to stumble across a murder cover-up when he was ...
    Traveling through time was just the beginning—now Simon and Brad have to survive a reimagined ...
    Traveling through time was just the beginning—now Simon and Brad have to survive a reimagined early America in the second book of the alternative history Fireball trilogy, from critically acclaimed Tripods author John Christopher.When Simon and Brad were caught in ...