Cancel

The Light Between Worlds

0 Reviews

The Light Between Worlds

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.

Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister’s despair and the painful truths they’ve been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister’s despair and the painful truths they’ve been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.
$16.19 16.19
$17.99 17.99
|Save 10% 10%
Special Item Info Text
View Product Details
PRE-ORDER
save for later
This item is currently not eligible for coupon offers.
Select Wishlist
Everyone (Public)
Just You (Private) - Sharing is Disabled
Select a Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Advertising
Product Details
Sales Rank:
478,787
Pages:
368
Publication Date:
10/23/2018
ISBN13:
9780062696878
Product Dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x1.17(d)
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years
Show More
About the Author

Laura E. Weymouth lives at the edge of the woods in western New York, along with her husband, two wild-hearted daughters, a spoiled cat, and an indeterminate number of chickens. The Light Between Worlds is her debut book, and she can be found online at www.lauraeweymouth.com.

Show More
Editorial Reviews
★ 09/03/2018
In this haunting historical fantasy similar to Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series for adults, two sisters struggle with reacclimation to the modern world after spending years in a magical realm. In 1944, as London burns during WWII bombings, Philippa, Jamie, and Evelyn Hapwell are transported to the enchanted Woodlands—only to discover that their refuge has its own troubles with war on the horizon. Six years of Woodlands time later, the trio is returned to the moment that they left London, unchanged physically but possessing a lifetime of experiences. Years later, Evelyn, 16, who hasn’t stopped longing for the Woodlands, vanishes in an attempt to return to the only place she’s ever considered home. Her older sister, Philippa, is consumed with guilt over Evelyn’s fate, even as she tries to create a life that doesn’t revolve around responsibility for her sibling. In this love letter to portal fantasies and Narnia, Weymouth infuses her characters with a rich panoply of emotions set against wartime England. A shining thread of hope and healing mitigates the book’s heartbreak and underlying trauma, suggesting a bright future for all involved. Ages 13–up. Agent: Lauren Spieller, TriadaUS. (Oct.)

“Even as Evelyn and Philippa navigate their exile from another world, Laura Weymouth reveals to us the real magic--born of sisterhood, nature, love and resilience--that resides in our own. THE LIGHT BETWEEN WORLDS is transfixing and unforgettable.”  “The perfect story for anyone who’s ever searched for magic in the everyday, THE LIGHT BETWEEN WORLDS will break your heart and then make it whole again. Laura Weymouth wields words like she’s casting spells, and the result is utterly enchanting.”“Haunting and beautiful, The Light Between Worlds is a love story to siblings, to the belief in magic, to discovering where you belong.”“An achingly lovely take on finding your own world. I loved this beautiful book!”“Even as Evelyn and Philippa navigate their exile from another world, Laura Weymouth reveals to us the real magic—born of sisterhood, nature, love and resilience—that resides in our own. THE LIGHT BETWEEN WORLDS is transfixing and unforgettable.”  2018-07-17

A mystical novel about three siblings finding, then losing, then finding their ways home again.

In the middle of the Blitz, 10-year-old Evelyn Hapwell imagines "a haven of silence and golden light," wishing to go "Anywhere but here." She and her two siblings, Philippa and Jamie, are magically summoned to the Woodlands, greeted by a majestic stag named Cervus, who tells the children that "a Woodlands heart always finds its way home." This refrain is repeated throughout the novel, as it alternates between the children's adventures in the Woodlands (war, peace, negotiations with corrupt royalty) and their subsequent attempts to readjust to normal life when Cervus sends them back to London. Five and a half years of their experiences collapse when they're transported back to the middle of the bombing they had escaped, their parents none the wiser. Evelyn, who believes that hers is truly a Woodlands heart, struggles to cope, whereas Jamie and Philippa are happier to be back home. Halfway through, the focus switches from traumatized Evelyn to cool, collected, and competent Philippa, who is a far more intriguing character with a more strongly realized plot than her sister. Main characters are white and there is significant ethnic diversity in secondary characters.

The slightly lackluster fantasy at the center of this novel provides an interesting perspective on war, trauma, and recovery. (Fiction. 13-17)

Show More
Related Collections and Offers
Advertising
Share
The Light Between Worlds
Hardcover (1)
The Light Between Worlds
Pub. Date: 10/23/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ADD TO CART - $16.19
Add to Wishlist
NOOK Book (1)
The Light Between Worlds
Pub. Date: 10/23/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ADD TO CART - $8.99
Add to Wishlist
Audiobook (2)
The Light Between Worlds
Pub. Date: 10/23/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ADD TO CART - $22.75
Add to Wishlist
The Light Between Worlds
Pub. Date: 10/23/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ADD TO CART - $22.75
Add to Wishlist
Explore More Items
Award-winning author Amy McNamara explores the emotional fallout after a girl cuts ties with her ...
Award-winning author Amy McNamara explores the emotional fallout after a girl cuts ties with her best friend. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.Evie and Emma are inseparable. Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until ...
A haunting, chilling, and atmospheric southern swamp tale—perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver.In this ...
A haunting, chilling, and atmospheric southern swamp tale—perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver.In this companion to Beware the Wild, the book New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White called “American myth at its very best,” Natalie C. Parker takes ...
From the acclaimed author of Maybe One Day, Melissa Kantor, comes a poignant coming-of-age story ...
From the acclaimed author of Maybe One Day, Melissa Kantor, comes a poignant coming-of-age story that skillfully captures the singular experience of being a teenage girl. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.Juliet ...
Vikings meets Frostblood in this romantic historical fantasy stand-alone from author Jessica Leake.The ancient land ...
Vikings meets Frostblood in this romantic historical fantasy stand-alone from author Jessica Leake.The ancient land of Éirinn is mired in war. Ciara, princess of Mide, has never known a time when Éirinn’s kingdoms were not battling for power, or Northmen ...
Fans of Pretty Little Liars, look no further for your new favorite chilling mystery: the ...
Fans of Pretty Little Liars, look no further for your new favorite chilling mystery: the Shade Me series by New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Brown. This last book in a popular trilogy is a nail-biting, not-to-be-missed finale that will leave ...
From the New York Times bestselling author of Asylum comes the second book in an all-new creepy fantasy series ...
From the New York Times bestselling author of Asylum comes the second book in an all-new creepy fantasy series praised as “darkly delightful.”*After the frightful events of last autumn, seventeen-year-old Louisa Ditton has settled into her role as a maid at Coldthistle House, but ...
The electrifying conclusion to the Dividing Eden series by the New York Times bestselling author of ...
The electrifying conclusion to the Dividing Eden series by the New York Times bestselling author of the Testing trilogy, Joelle Charbonneau.The Trials of Virtuous Succession have ended. Prince Andreus is king—and Princess Carys is dead.But even as he’s haunted by what he ...
A dying boy on a dying planet plays a dangerous, sophisticated, and addictive game that ...
A dying boy on a dying planet plays a dangerous, sophisticated, and addictive game that could save his life—if it doesn’t kill him first. A complex, gorgeous, literary thriller for fans for Ernest Cline, Brandon Sanderson, Orson Scott Card, and ...