Cancel

The Home Place: A Novel

by Carrie La Seur

7 Reviews

The Home Place: A Novel
Launch Sample
Paperback  (Reprint)
$12.61 12.61
$14.99 14.99
|Save 16% 16%
Special Item Info Text
View Product Details
add to cart
save for later
Select Wishlist
Everyone (Public)
Just You (Private) - Sharing is Disabled
Select a Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Want it today?
Check store availability.
Pick up in Store
Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store.
Find In Store
Advertising
Overview

Overview

The Home Place: A Novel by Carrie La Seur

Carrie La Seur makes her remarkable debut with The Home Place, a mesmerizing, emotionally evocative, and atmospheric literary novel in the vein of The House Girl and A Land More Kind Than Home, in which a successful lawyer is pulled back into her troubled family’s life in rural Montana in the wake of her sister’s death.

The only Terrebonne who made it out, Alma thought she was done with Montana, with its bleak winters and stifling ways. But an unexpected call from the local police takes the successful lawyer back to her provincial hometown and pulls her into the family trouble she thought she’d left far behind: Her lying, party-loving sister, Vicky, is dead. Alma is told that a very drunk Vicky had wandered away from a party and died of exposure after a night in the brutal cold. But when Alma returns home to bury Vicky and see to her orphaned niece, she discovers that the death may not have been an accident.

The Home Place is a story of secrets that will not lie still, human bonds that will not break, and crippling memories that will not be silenced. It is a story of rural towns and runaways, of tensions corporate and racial, of childhood trauma and adolescent betrayal, and of the guilt that even forgiveness cannot ease. Most of all, this is a story of the place we carry in us always: home.

Show More
Product Details
ISBN-13:
9780062323453
9780062323453
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
03/31/2015
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
320
320
Sales rank:
386,282
Product dimensions:
5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.72(d)
Show More
About the Author

About the Author

Carrie practices energy and environmental law on behalf of farmers, ranchers, and Native Americans, and does a little writing, from an office in Billings, Montana. Her ancestors homesteaded in Montana in 1864 and survived every sort of calamity and absurdity, so the publishing industry seems pretty tame to her by comparison.

Carrie’s improbable but apparently nonfiction résumé includes a degree in English and French from Bryn Mawr College, a Rhodes Scholarship, a doctorate in modern languages from Oxford University, and a Yale law degree. She has always been a writer. “The writing comes easily,” she says. “It’s what I’m always doing in the background, whatever else is going on. It’s like my resting pulse rate to be scribbling what’s happening in my head. If I didn’t, I’d be wandering the streets talking to myself. Sometimes I do that anyway.”

In 2006, Carrie founded the legal nonprofit Plains Justice, which provides public interest energy and environmental legal services in the northern plains states. Carrie and Plains Justice have played a key role in halting several new coal plants, enacting clean energy reforms, and launching the Keystone XL pipeline campaign. “I’m still involved in Plains Justice, but I went back to private practice in 2012. Running a nonprofit takes a unique blend of selflessness and enough raging narcissism to think you really can change the world. The burnout rate is similar to that of telemarketers.”

A licensed private pilot and committed introvert, Carrie hikes, skis, and fishes the Montana wilderness with her family in her spare time. Her work has appeared in such diverse media as Grist, Harvard Law and Policy Review, The Huffington Post, Mother Jones, and Salon.

Show More
Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Powerfully evocative and page-turning.

Rosamund Lupton
Show More
Customer Reviews (7)
I couldn t put this down
Great book and a enjoyable read. This is a new talent and i,m just waitingfor the next novel. i was surprised this was her first Book
- Anonymous
February 2, 2015
Wolff&#8482
Short but good! Cx
- Anonymous
May 16, 2017
Ashfeather to Might Roequartz
Uhhh might just sounds.... cheesy...
- Anonymous
May 15, 2017
Show More Reviews 
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING details
  • Get it by Monday, April 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

  • Advertising
    Share
    The Home Place: A Novel
    Hardcover (1)
    The Home Place: A Novel
    Pub. Date: 07/29/2014
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    ADD TO CART - $25.99
    Add to Wishlist
    NOOK Book (1)
    The Home Place: A Novel
    Pub. Date: 07/29/2014
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    ADD TO CART - $10.24
    Add to Wishlist
    Audiobook (1)
    The Home Place: A Novel
    Pub. Date: 07/29/2014
    Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
    Temporarily out of stock online.
    Add to Wishlist
    Paperback (2)
    The Home Place: A Novel
    Pub. Date: 03/31/2015
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    ADD TO CART - $12.61
    Add to Wishlist
    The Home Place: A Novel
    Pub. Date: 07/29/2014
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    ADD TO CART - $25.99
    Add to Wishlist
    Explore More Items
    “Jaros has crafted such a vividly ravaged world that I could almost feel the grit ...
    “Jaros has crafted such a vividly ravaged world that I could almost feel the grit on my fingers as I turned each page.”—Marcus Pelegrimas, author of the Skinners series“Intense, amazing….A superb, brilliant thriller.”—Bill Evans, author of Category 7James Jaros envisions ...
    The past returns to haunt Chief Inspector Alan Banks in this harrowing novel of suspense ...
    The past returns to haunt Chief Inspector Alan Banks in this harrowing novel of suspense from New York Times bestselling author Peter Robinson.There are human bones, buried in an open field, the remains of a lost teenaged boy whose disappearance ...
    Cool Homes in Hot Places showcases real homes from the hottest territories around the world. ...
    Cool Homes in Hot Places showcases real homes from the hottest territories around the world. Featuring a wide variety of environments and styles—from wilderness to hillside, from waterside to woodside, and from cultivated to streetside—this book shows how careful decisions ...
    In Embroidery pour la Maison, a delightful little craft book from French artist Sylvie Blondeau, ...
    In Embroidery pour la Maison, a delightful little craft book from French artist Sylvie Blondeau, you'll find more than 100 adorable ways to personalize and decorate everyday items in your home.Part of a new series of embroidery books and featuring ...
    The heart of Friday Night Lights meets the emotional resonance and nostalgia of My So-Called Life in this moving ...
    The heart of Friday Night Lights meets the emotional resonance and nostalgia of My So-Called Life in this moving debut novel about tradition, family, love, and football.As the high school football coach in his small, rural Maryland town, Dean is a hero who reorganized ...
    Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica, this book by New York Times bestselling author and ...
    Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica, this book by New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green makes for a thrilling new addition to Green’s bestselling Baseball Great series.Josh’s life has just fallen apart. His father will ...
    Welcome to Harmony ...In this acclaimed inaugural volume in the Harmony series, master American storyteller ...
    Welcome to Harmony ...In this acclaimed inaugural volume in the Harmony series, master American storyteller Philip Gulley draws us into the charming world of minister Sam Gardner in his first year back in his hometown, capturing the essence of small-town ...
    La tímida Elizabeth Anne Fitzgerald se queda atónita cuando, en su primer baile de máscaras, ...
    La tímida Elizabeth Anne Fitzgerald se queda atónita cuando, en su primer baile de máscaras, Tyrell de Warenne le propone al oído una cita en el jardín a medianoche. Desde hace años, Lizzie adora en secreto a aquel lord inalcanzable. ...