Cancel

The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown

by Penny Junor

1 Review

The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown
Launch Sample
NOOK Book  (eBook)
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK by Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.0 [Tab A and Tab 4]
  • NOOK by Samsung [Tab 4 10.1, S2 & E]
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Free NOOK Reading Apps
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC or Mac
  • NOOK for PC
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now
$14.99 14.99
Special Item Info Text
View Product Details
add to cart
save for later
Select Wishlist
Everyone (Public)
Just You (Private) - Sharing is Disabled
Select a Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Advertising
Overview

Overview

The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown by Penny Junor

In the first in-depth biography of Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall—the infamous other woman who made the marriage of Britain’s Prince Charles and Princess Diana "a bit crowded"—esteemed royal biographer Penny Junor tells the unlikely and extraordinary story of the woman reviled as a pariah who, thanks to numerous twists of fate, became the popular princess consort.

Few know the Windsor family as well as veteran royal biographer and journalist Penny Junor. In The Duchess, she casts her insightful, sensitive eye on the intriguing, once widely despised, and little-known Camilla Parker Bowles, revealing in full, for the first time, the remarkable rise of a woman who was the most notorious mistress in the world.

As Camilla’s marriage to Charles approached in 2005, the British public were upset at the prospect that this woman, universally reviled for wrecking the royal marriage, would one day become queen. Sensitive to public opinion, the palace announced that this would never happen; when Charles eventually acceded to the throne, Camilla would be known as the princess consort. Yet a decade later British public sentiment had changed, with a majority believing that Camilla should become queen.

Junor argues that although Camilla played a central role in the darkest days of the modern monarchy—Charles and Diana’s acrimonious and scandalous split—she also played a central role in restoring the royal family’s reputation, especially that of Prince Charles. A woman with no ambition to be a princess, a duchess, or a queen, Camilla simply wanted to be with, and support, the man who has always been the love of her life. Junor contends that their marriage has reinvigorated Charles, allowing him to finally become comfortable as the heir to the British throne.



Show More
Product Details
ISBN-13:
9780062471123
9780062471123
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/10/2018
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
320
Sales rank:
11,432
File size:
33 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Show More
About the Author

About the Author

British journalist, broadcaster, and author Penny Junor has covered the Royal Family for nearly thirty years. She is the author of biographies of both the Prince and Princess of Wales, their two sons, and two British prime ministers, and the coauthor of Patti Boyd’s autobiography, Wonderful Tonight, which was an instant number one New York Times bestseller. She is married with four children and lives in Wiltshire, England.

Show More
Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Introduction xvii

1 The Problem 1

2 Debs' Delight 6

3 Medals Not Money 14

4 History 19

5 The Foundation Years 29

6 The Stuffed Stoat 35

7 Swinging Sixties 40

8 Mrs PB 48

9 The Attentions of a Prince 56

10 An Education 63

11 A Suitable Bride 70

12 Dishonesty All Round 77

13 A State of Mind 83

14 The Stuff of Nightmares 87

15 Princess of Wales 94

16 A Plea for Help 99

17 For King and Country 105

18 Annus Horribilis 111

19 The Final Salvos 123

20 Dark Days 127

21 Divorce 134

22 Blackadder 140

23 Week of Waiting 149

24 A Low Profile 156

25 Raw Recruit 161

26 Coming Out 168

27 A Little Local Difficulty 176

28 U-Turn 186

29 Final Furlong 191

30 It Girl 197

31 Staying Sane 203

32 Pillars of Interest 209

33 A Good Read 212

34 Nothing to Prove 221

35 In the Family 227

36 Bedside Manner 232

37 Abroad 237

38 WOW 243

39 Making a Difference 246

40 Domestic Violence 254

41 Mending Fences 259

42 The Future 265

Bibliography 275

Picture Credits 277

Acknowledgements 279

Index 281

Show More
Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

★ 02/01/2018
What seems like simple truth is generally more complex, and according to journalist Junor (Prince Harry: Brother, Soldier, Son), such is the case with Camilla Parker Bowles, now the Duchess of Cornwall, who married Prince Charles in 2005. Everyone imagines that they know the real duchess, while many remain convinced that her behavior largely caused the collapse of Prince Charles's marriage to Diana, Princess of Wales. Even now Camilla continues to suffer public disapproval because of the unrelenting media attention she drew during Diana and Charles's marriage crisis. Junor's biography focuses on Camilla's friendship with Charles before his marriage to Diana, her support and friendship during its collapse, and their eventual union after Diana's death in 1997. Sympathetic and thoughtful toward her subject, Junor's scrupulously even-handed portrait shows the Duchess of Cornwall as dignified, kind, witty, and hardworking. VERDICT Thoroughly well-written, this is a believable portrait of a woman who did not seek publicity or a royal role but instead to support the love of her life, Prince Charles.—Penelope J.M. Klein, Fayetteville, NY

Library Journal
Show More
Customer Reviews (1)
- Anonymous
April 14, 2018
Advertising
Share
The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown
Hardcover (2)
The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown
Pub. Date: 04/10/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ADD TO CART - $18.84
Add to Wishlist
ADD TO CART - $35.99
Add to Wishlist
NOOK Book (1)
The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown
Pub. Date: 04/10/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ADD TO CART - $14.99
Add to Wishlist
Audiobook (2)
The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown
Pub. Date: 04/10/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ADD TO CART - $39.99
Add to Wishlist
The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair That Rocked the Crown
Pub. Date: 04/10/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ADD TO CART - $39.99
Add to Wishlist
Explore More Items
Enemies march across the realm wreaking havoc. Region by region, Midkemia is being ripped apart, ...
Enemies march across the realm wreaking havoc. Region by region, Midkemia is being ripped apart, and loyal spy Jim Dasher and his allies find themselves overpowered at every turn. Meanwhile, palace coups threaten to topple the thrones of Roldem and ...
“A wildly imaginative world and a plot full of unexpected twists and turns, not to ...
“A wildly imaginative world and a plot full of unexpected twists and turns, not to mention plenty of witty banter.” —Sarah Prineas, author of the Magic Thief series“Out-of-this world magic, laugh-out-loud humor, and a cast of lovable characters.” —Sage Blackwood, ...
A haunting, chilling, and atmospheric southern swamp tale—perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver.In this ...
A haunting, chilling, and atmospheric southern swamp tale—perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver.In this companion to Beware the Wild, the book New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White called “American myth at its very best,” Natalie C. Parker takes ...
This edition does not include illustrations.This explosive biography of the Prince of Wales set media ...
This edition does not include illustrations.This explosive biography of the Prince of Wales set media headlines alight on hardback publication. Now available complete with an updated epilogue, it will change the way you think about Charles, his Princess and his ...
From bestselling author Susane Colasanti comes the bittersweet ending to the City Love trilogy, featuring ...
From bestselling author Susane Colasanti comes the bittersweet ending to the City Love trilogy, featuring three girls sharing an apartment in New York City the summer before college begins. Forever in Love captures the essence of summer love, self-discovery, and ...
In this strikingly illustrated book of original poetry, System of a Down fans gain an ...
In this strikingly illustrated book of original poetry, System of a Down fans gain an intimate glimpse into the soul of the band's frontman, Serj Tankian. For fans stirred by the cerebral lyrics of SOAD albums Hypnotize, Mesmerize, Steal This ...
Kawaiiiiiiiiiii desu! Moveover Powerpuff Girls, step aside Hello Kitty, get outof the way Rilakkuma—here come the ...
Kawaiiiiiiiiiii desu! Moveover Powerpuff Girls, step aside Hello Kitty, get outof the way Rilakkuma—here come the cutest newcreations from Japan’s top artists in I Love Kawaii,a bright and bubbly guide to today’s most imaginative and adorable Kawaii art. Collected by the ...
In this powerful memoir, a fiercely honest and surprisingly funny testament to healing after abortion, ...
In this powerful memoir, a fiercely honest and surprisingly funny testament to healing after abortion, a young woman travels across the United States to meet a motley crew of spiritual teachers and a caravan of new friends.At age nineteen, Kassi ...