Cancel

Odd & True

by Cat Winters

0 Reviews

Odd & True
Hardcover  
$12.35 12.35
$17.99 17.99
|Save 31% 31%
Special Item Info Text
View Product Details
add to cart
save for later
Select Wishlist
Everyone (Public)
Just You (Private) - Sharing is Disabled
Select a Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Want it today?
Check store availability.
Pick up in Store
Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store.
Find In Store
Advertising
Overview

Overview

Odd & True by Cat Winters


Trudchen grew up hearing Odette’s stories of their monster-slaying mother and a magician’s curse. But now that Tru’s older, she’s starting to wonder if her older sister’s tales were just comforting lies, especially because there’s nothing fantastic about her own life—permanently disabled and in constant pain from childhood polio.

In 1909, after a two-year absence, Od reappears with a suitcase supposedly full of weapons and a promise to rescue Tru from the monsters on their way to attack her. But it’s Od who seems haunted by something. And when the sisters’ search for their mother leads them to a face-off with the Leeds Devil, a nightmarish beast that’s wreaking havoc in the Mid-Atlantic states, Tru discovers the peculiar possibility that she and her sister—despite their dark pasts and ordinary appearances—might, indeed, have magic after all.

Show More
Product Details
ISBN-13:
9781419723100
9781419723100
Publisher:
Amulet Books
Amulet Books
Publication date:
09/12/2017
Pages:
368
368
Sales rank:
149,608
Product dimensions:
5.70(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range:
12 - 18 Years
Show More
About the Author

About the Author


Cat Winters is the author of the critically acclaimed young adult novels The Steep and Thorny Way, The Cure for Dreaming, and In the Shadow of Blackbirds, the latter of which collected three starred reviews and was a William C. Morris Award YA Debut Award finalist. She lives in Portland, Oregon. Visit the author at catwinters.com.
Show More
Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

07/10/2017
Sisters Odette and Trudchen Grey grew up believing that their mother was a monster hunter, and Od never stopped telling Tru stories of their mother’s exploits, even after they were sent to live on their aunt’s Oregon farm as girls. In 1909, on Tru’s 15th birthday, Od returns after a two-year absence (she says she joined a circus) and insists that Tru leave with her. Tru is hesitant—her leg, nearly useless after a bout with polio, slows her down—but eventually it’s onward to Philadelphia they go, confronting their pasts and maybe even something right out of a nightmare. The story jumps between the sisters’ viewpoints, past and present, and as the truth of Od’s time in the “circus” becomes clear, so does her heartbreak, and the lengths she’s gone to protect her sister. Winters’s captivating, poignant tale of childhood magic and the bond between sisters ends a bit neatly, but readers won’t care, drawn steadily forward by the book’s mysteries and by Od and Tru’s resilient faith in each other. Ages 12–up. Agent: Barbara Poelle, Irene Goodman Literary. (Sept.)

Publishers Weekly
Show More
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING details
  • Get it by Tuesday, December 19 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

  • Advertising
    Share
    Odd & True
    Hardcover (1)
    Odd & True
    Pub. Date: 09/12/2017
    Publisher: Amulet Books
    ADD TO CART - $12.35
    Add to Wishlist
    NOOK Book (1)
    Odd & True
    Pub. Date: 09/12/2017
    Publisher: ABRAMS
    ADD TO CART - $10.99
    Add to Wishlist
    Explore More Items
    Emmy Award–winning ABC News chief national correspondent and Nightline coanchor, Byron Pitts shares the heartbreaking ...
    Emmy Award–winning ABC News chief national correspondent and Nightline coanchor, Byron Pitts shares the heartbreaking and inspiring stories of six young people who overcame impossible circumstances with extraordinary perseverance.Abuse. Bullying. War. Drug Addiction. Mental Illness. Violence.None of these ...
    The Diviners are back in this thrilling and eerie third installment by #1 New York ...
    The Diviners are back in this thrilling and eerie third installment by #1 New York Times bestselling author Libba Bray.New York City.1927.Lights are bright.Jazz is king.Parties are wild.And the dead are coming... After battling a supernatural sleeping sickness that early ...
    For readers of Sarah J. Maas and of Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy comes Disruptor, the ...
    For readers of Sarah J. Maas and of Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy comes Disruptor, the sequel to Traveler, the thrilling conclusion to the Seeker series.“Readers of the first two volumes will find their long-awaited conclusion here, and Dayton will have ...
    In 1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in ...
    In 1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in gauze masks to ward off the deadly Spanish influenza, and the government ships young men to the front lines of a brutal war, creating an ...
    Judaism, Fourth Edition presents the basic beliefs of the Jewish religion and highlights the different ...
    Judaism, Fourth Edition presents the basic beliefs of the Jewish religion and highlights the different ways in which these traditions have been upheld. Both Orthodox Judaism and the religious practices and movements within modern Judaism-including Reform Judaism, Conservative Judaism, and ...
    Each volume in Ferguson's Careers in Focus series offers an overview of a career category ...
    Each volume in Ferguson's Careers in Focus series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs, profiled in detail. Each profile discusses the nature of the job, earnings, prospects for employment, what kind of training ...
    This installment in an ever-growing American history book series is aimed at high school students. ...
    This installment in an ever-growing American history book series is aimed at high school students. The titles in this series are dedicated to a single event that notably changed American history. They contain thorough explanations of the events, including extensive ...
    Every resident of the planet Yipsmix has synesthesia—they don’t just hear sounds; they see and ...
    Every resident of the planet Yipsmix has synesthesia—they don’t just hear sounds; they see and taste them, too. On this unusual planet, poor Jaq Rollop must save his family’s farm. To do so, Jaq is forced to sell his beloved ...