Cancel

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

by J. D. Vance

115 Reviews

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
Launch Sample
Hardcover  
$19.96 19.96
$27.99 27.99
|Save 29% 29%
Special Item Info Text
View Product Details
add to cart
save for later
Select Wishlist
Everyone (Public)
Just You (Private) - Sharing is Disabled
Select a Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Want it today?
Check store availability.
Pick up in Store
Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store.
Find In Store
Advertising
Overview

Overview

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J. D. Vance

From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles of America’s white working class

Hillbilly Elegy is a passionate and personal analysis of a culture in crisis—that of white working-class Americans. The decline of this group, a demographic of our country that has been slowly disintegrating over forty years, has been reported on with growing frequency and alarm, but has never before been written about as searingly from the inside. J. D. Vance tells the true story of what a social, regional, and class decline feels like when you were born with it hung around your neck.

The Vance family story begins hopefully in postwar America. J. D.’s grandparents were “dirt poor and in love,” and moved north from Kentucky’s Appalachia region to Ohio in the hopes of escaping the dreadful poverty around them. They raised a middle-class family, and eventually their grandchild (the author) would graduate from Yale Law School, a conventional marker of their success in achieving generational upward mobility.

But as the family saga of Hillbilly Elegy plays out, we learn that this is only the short, superficial version. Vance’s grandparents, aunt, uncle, sister, and, most of all, his mother, struggled profoundly with the demands of their new middle-class life, and were never able to fully escape the legacy of abuse, alcoholism, poverty, and trauma so characteristic of their part of America. Vance piercingly shows how he himself still carries around the demons of their chaotic family history.

A deeply moving memoir with its share of humor and vividly colorful figures, Hillbilly Elegy is the story of how upward mobility really feels. And it is an urgent and troubling meditation on the loss of the American dream for a large segment of this country.

Show More
Product Details
ISBN-13:
9780062300546
9780062300546
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/28/2016
Pages:
272
272
Sales rank:
95
Product dimensions:
6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.20(d)
Show More
About the Author

About the Author

J.D. Vance grew up in the Rust Belt city of Middletown, Ohio, and the Appalachian town of Jackson, Kentucky. He enlisted in the Marine Corps after high school and served in Iraq. A graduate of the Ohio State University and Yale Law School, he has contributed to the National Review and is a principal at a leading Silicon Valley investment firm. Vance lives in San Francisco with his wife and two dogs.

Author mail for J.D. Vance can be sent to the below:

P.O. Box 1040
West Chester, OH 45071

Show More
Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

…an affectionate yet unflinching look at growing up in social and domestic chaos in southwestern Ohio…Too often, America's longstanding discomfort with talking candidly about social class can make memoirs about hardscrabble upbringings sound like public service announcements. But if Vance is an adroit enough storyteller, he's a fiercely astute social critic of the sort we desperately need right now. Instead of cleaving his narrative to a political or ideological agenda, he wrestles honestly with the messy contradictions inherent to any conversation about race or class. For all his affection and empathy for his hillbilly brethren, he's not afraid to show the ways opportunities can be squandered not just by addiction or systemic failure but also out of laziness or stubbornness.

The New York Times Book Review - Meghan Daum
Show More
Customer Reviews (115)
- Anonymous
August 1, 2016
I found this book to be excellent. It was so sad in many ways. T ...
I found this book to be excellent. It was so sad in many ways. This book should be required reading in high schools. Maybe it will help all races and cultures of students learn and understand one another better!
- Anonymous
September 12, 2016
Hillbilly eleugy
Loved this book! Brought back so many memories of my own childhood living in Appalachia a few miles east of Middletown.use to date a girl there in the 50s. Congratulations on your great story and success . I am so happy to have lived my hillbilly life.
- Anonymous
March 7, 2017
Show More Reviews 
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING details
  • Use Standard Shipping ,  For guaranteed delivery by Dec. 24.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

  • Advertising
    Share
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Hardcover (3)
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Pub. Date: 06/28/2016
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    ADD TO CART - $19.96
    Add to Wishlist
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Pub. Date: 01/04/2017
    Publisher: Gale Group
    ADD TO CART - $31.99
    Add to Wishlist
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Pub. Date: 06/28/2016
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    Temporarily out of stock online.
    Add to Wishlist
    Other Format (1)
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Pub. Date: 06/28/2016
    Publisher: Blackstone Pub
    ADD TO CART - $41.86
    Add to Wishlist
    NOOK Book (1)
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Pub. Date: 06/28/2016
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    ADD TO CART - $15.99
    Add to Wishlist
    Paperback (1)
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Pub. Date: 05/01/2018
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    ADD TO CART - $12.17
    Add to Wishlist
    Audiobook (2)
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Pub. Date: 06/28/2016
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    ADD TO CART - $19.65
    Add to Wishlist
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    Pub. Date: 06/28/2016
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    Temporarily out of stock online.
    Add to Wishlist
    Explore More Items
    This inspiring memoir by the Gold Star parent and captivating DNC speaker is the story ...
    This inspiring memoir by the Gold Star parent and captivating DNC speaker is the story of one family’s pursuit of the American dream and why—especially in these tumultuous times—we must not be afraid to step forward for what we believe ...
    From Chris Rylander, author of the breakout hit Fourth Stall saga, comes the third book ...
    From Chris Rylander, author of the breakout hit Fourth Stall saga, comes the third book in the Codename Conspiracy series—an incredibly funny and clever mash-up of middle grade school story and spy adventure, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman.There is ...
    Hillbilly, una elegía rural es un relato apasionado y apasionante de una clase social en ...
    Hillbilly, una elegía rural es un relato apasionado y apasionante de una clase social en decadencia, la de la clase trabajadora blanca en Estados Unidos. Los hillbillies, término peyorativo que hace referencia a los habitantes de la cordillera de los ...
    This book summary is created for individuals who want to flesh out the essential contents ...
    This book summary is created for individuals who want to flesh out the essential contents but are too busy to go through the entire book. This book is not intended to replace the original book.Best selling author of Hillbilly Elegy: ...
    2016 is the year of Donald Trump, and J.D. Vance's Hillbilly Elegy should be at ...
    2016 is the year of Donald Trump, and J.D. Vance's Hillbilly Elegy should be at the top of every politico and thought leader's reading list living in the Acela corridor. Vance is both an excellent writer and a thoughtful person-and ...
    In the humane tradition of Katherine Boo’s Behind the Beautiful Forevers comes a searing account ...
    In the humane tradition of Katherine Boo’s Behind the Beautiful Forevers comes a searing account of the international refugee crisis.On the day of his son’s fourteenth birthday, Hashem al-Souki lay somewhere in the Mediterranean, crammed in a wooden dinghy. His ...
    Actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt (The Dark Knight Rises, Inception, Looper, 500 Days of Summer) made a ...
    Actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt (The Dark Knight Rises, Inception, Looper, 500 Days of Summer) made a big splash with The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories—so now he’s back with volume 2! One of the most ingenious and successful projects to come ...
    In Where the Past Begins, bestselling author of The Joy Luck Club and The Valley ...
    In Where the Past Begins, bestselling author of The Joy Luck Club and The Valley of Amazement Amy Tan reveals herself in a way she never has before, delving into her childhood, adolescence, family history, beginnings as a writer and ...