Cancel

Fragile Chaos

by Amber R. Duell , Leah T. Brown (Editor)

3 Reviews

Fragile Chaos
Paperback  
$13.99 13.99
Special Item Info Text
View Product Details
add to cart
save for later
Select Wishlist
Everyone (Public)
Just You (Private) - Sharing is Disabled
Select a Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Advertising
Overview

Overview

Fragile Chaos by Amber R. Duell

A GOD OF WAR SEEKING RESTORATION.

AN UNWILLING SACRIFICIAL BRIDE.

BETRAYAL THAT COULD DESTROY THEM BOTH.

“Every fiber of my being is woven from the rage of mortals.”

Theodric, the young God of War, has a talent for inciting conflict and bloodshed. After being stripped of his powers by his older brother, King of Gods, he sets out to instigate a mortal war to prove himself worthy of being restored to power.

“I loved Kisk once; it was my home… But that was before. This is now.”

Sixteen-year-old Cassia, like many in the modern era, believes gods and goddesses to be just a myth. Enemy to her country and an orphan of the war, she has no time for fairy tales. That’s until religious zealots from Theo’s sect offer her up as a sacrifice.

Can Cassia and Theo end the mortal war and return balance to the earth and heavens? Or, will their game of fate lead down a path of destruction, betrayal, and romance neither of them saw coming?



Show More
Product Details
ISBN-13:
9781946024008
9781946024008
Publisher:
Radiant Crown Publishing
Radiant Crown Publishing
Publication date:
07/11/2017
Pages:
302
302
Sales rank:
719,755
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.68(d)
Age Range:
13 - 18 Years
Show More
About the Author

About the Author

Amber R. Duell was born and raised in a small town in Central New York. While it will always be home, she's spent the last six years living in Germany and Maine as a military wife where the next step is always an adventure.When Amber isn't writing, she's wrangling her two young sons. She is a lover of history, a fan of snowboarding, and a travel enthusiast. In her downtime, she can be found curling up with a good book and a cat or two. To learn more, visit www.amberrduell.com or follow Amber on Twitter (@AmberR_Duell).

Leah T. Brown received her Bachelor's degree in English Literature and holds a Master's degree in Book Publishing from Portland State University. She has worked with big and small publishers, as well as many independent authors. Leah lives in Vancouver, WA, with her husband and son.

For more information, visit www.leahbrownediting.com.

Tiphaine Leard graduated from Brassart in Nantes, France with an art degree in 2011. She has worked as a freelance illustrator and graphic designer since 2012. Tiphaine is a hot chocolate addict, cat owner, and world traveler who loves to discover new cultures and local foods.

For more information, visits www.tiphs-art.com.
Show More
Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Title Page

Copyright

Dedication

Maps

Chapter 1 - Theo

Chapter 2 - Cassia

Chapter 3 - Theo

Chapter 4 - Cassia

Chapter 5 - Theo

Chapter 6 - Cassia

Chapter 7 - Theo

Chapter - Cassia

Chapter 8 – Cassia

Chapter 9 – Theo

Chapter 10 – Cassia

Chapter 11 – Theo

Chapter 12 – Cassia

Chapter 13 – Theo

Chapter 14 – Cassia

Chapter 15 – Theo

Chapter 16 – Cassia

Chapter 17 – Theo

Chapter 18 – Cassia

Chapter 19 – Theo

Chapter 20 – Cassia

Chapter 21 – Theo

Chapter 22 – Cassia

Chapter 23 – Theo

Chapter 24 – Cassia

Chapter 25 – Theo

Chapter 26 – Cassia

Acknowledgements

End of the Ostran War (Year 1202)

Show More
Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

10/01/2017
Gr 8 Up—Mortal Cassia and god of war Theodric take turns telling their story as a loose tribute to "Beauty and the Beast." As Cassia's homeland is besieged by war and she is left without a family, Theodric struggles with the challenges of being rendered powerless by his brother. When a group of devoted followers kidnap Cassia and sacrifice her to the god of war, Cassia finds herself on the other side of life. She learns if she and Theodric "consummate" their relationship, he will owe her peace in her homeland. But there may be something else she wants, and she's willing to play the game to get it. Meanwhile, Theodric faces power struggles among his siblings—gods of other concepts, including death. Although without a strong sense of place or time, this novel, with a political plot woven with romance, will engage fans of the postapocalyptic and fantasy genres. Theodric differs from typical male love interests; he's more emotionally aware, if easily angered, than the usual brooding loner. While Cassia is somewhat less defined aside from her love of scavenger hunts and general feistiness, the chemistry between the pair is undeniable. This is an admirable debut with well-developed relationships in an uncertain setting and lots of romance to go around. VERDICT Fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Holly Black's Tithe will enjoy; purchase where reimaginings and urban fantasy are popular.—Abby Hargreaves, D.C. Public Library

School Library Journal
Show More
Customer Reviews (3)
Reviewed by K S Marsden for Readers' Favorite Theo is the god of ...
Reviewed by K S Marsden for Readers' Favorite Theo is the god of war and, despite some sibling rivalry, he is in his element as three nations are pushed towards destruction. War is all he has ever known, until a chance encounter with a young girl changes centuries of ambition. The narration of this story is split equally between Theo, a god who looks about 17 years old, and has been influencing wars and conflicts for centuries, and Cassia, a 16-year-old girl whose family were victims of the current Kisk war. This book is suitable for older YA readers, as it starts with the sacrifice/murder of Cassia, and contains sexual themes later on. Fragile Chaos is set in a world similar to ours. It echoes the decline of religious devotion to the gods as humans become more advanced and sure of themselves. The gods are original creations by Amber R. Duell, although they remind me of the Greek gods – a family of powerful beings that can be petty and underhanded, carrying feuds for all time. This setting felt like something new and intriguing, but faded into the background to allow the romance to take centre stage. The story focuses on the growing attachment between Cassia and Theo, who shouldn’t like each other for a variety of reasons, but can’t deny the attraction between them. I liked the relationship between the main characters; it just hooks you in and pulls you along effortlessly as you wonder how this will ever work out. This book will be very popular with YA readers looking for their new immortal crush.
- ReadersFavorite
January 9, 2018
Thanks to the #kidlitexchange network for the free review copy of ...
Thanks to the #kidlitexchange network for the free review copy of his book – all opinions are my own. I really enjoyed this story. The desolate feel of the setting mixed with the survival mode of the characters really kept me involved in the story. I loved that there was mystery surrounding the characters and their roles/places in "society" as well. And the fantastical element kicked it up a notch. It had a dark feeling to it, yet it wasn't a turnoff. Instead, it added to the ambiance of the story. I don't have a lot to say about this book other than you have to read it and experience it for yourself. It's a really great and unique synopsis, and I loved that it wasn't one I've read over and over again. It's definitely going to be a great choice for fan of the fantasy and adventure combo.
- AmberK1120
March 11, 2018
Thanks to the #kidlitexchange network for the free review copy of ...
Thanks to the #kidlitexchange network for the free review copy of his book – all opinions are my own. I really enjoyed this story. The desolate feel of the setting mixed with the survival mode of the characters really kept me involved in the story. I loved that there was mystery surrounding the characters and their roles/places in "society" as well. And the fantastical element kicked it up a notch. It had a dark feeling to it, yet it wasn't a turnoff. Instead, it added to the ambiance of the story. I don't have a lot to say about this book other than you have to read it and experience it for yourself. It's a really great and unique synopsis, and I loved that it wasn't one I've read over and over again. It's definitely going to be a great choice for fan of the fantasy and adventure combo.
- AmberK1120
March 11, 2018
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING details
  • Get it by Thursday, May 24 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

  • Advertising
    Share
    Fragile Chaos
    Hardcover (1)
    Fragile Chaos
    Pub. Date: 07/11/2017
    Publisher: Radiant Crown Publishing
    ADD TO CART - $18.99
    Add to Wishlist
    Paperback (1)
    Fragile Chaos
    Pub. Date: 07/11/2017
    Publisher: Radiant Crown Publishing
    ADD TO CART - $13.99
    Add to Wishlist
    Explore More Items
    When high school English teacher Cassandra Reilly is laid off, she takes a poorly paying ...
    When high school English teacher Cassandra Reilly is laid off, she takes a poorly paying part-time job at a local nursing home to make ends meet. Her employment problems may be solved when one of her patients passes away after ...
    Sunita and Mukesh are friends. He's cynical, from Calcutta, cocky and well-read. She's clever, curious ...
    Sunita and Mukesh are friends. He's cynical, from Calcutta, cocky and well-read. She's clever, curious and amused by him. It's the 1960s, Delhi University. Fashionable movies play at the art deco cinemas, Nehruvian poshness is stylish, The Beatles are the ...
    Warning: Aliens Ahead. First Time in Paperback. Space Action by a New Star of Military ...
    Warning: Aliens Ahead. First Time in Paperback. Space Action by a New Star of Military Science Fiction.When an exploration ship from Freehold discovered a planet with intelligent lifeforms—the first humans had ever encountered—it should have been the most important event ...
    After September 11th , Ahmed Rashid's crucial book Taliban introduced American readers to that now ...
    After September 11th , Ahmed Rashid's crucial book Taliban introduced American readers to that now notorious regime. In this new work, he returns to Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Central Asia to review the catastrophic aftermath of America's failed war on terror. ...
    After twenty years of journalistic drudgery, Max Kavich's career has finally taken off-he's landed a ...
    After twenty years of journalistic drudgery, Max Kavich's career has finally taken off-he's landed a high-profile feature-writing job at the Star-Herald, New Jersey's largest newspaper. He sifts through the human wreckage of plane crashes, car wrecks, and homicides to find ...
    The 2011 Arab uprisings precipitated the relatively quick collapse of a number of Middle Eastern ...
    The 2011 Arab uprisings precipitated the relatively quick collapse of a number of Middle Eastern states once perceived as invincible. The Tunisian and Egyptian states succumbed to revolutionary upheavals early on, followed by that of Qadhafi's Libya. Yemen's President Saleh ...
    Mortal Enchantment spins a unique twist on elemental mythology. This series is not to be ...
    Mortal Enchantment spins a unique twist on elemental mythology. This series is not to be missed. Jennifer L. Armentrout, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author It's been a week since all hell broke loose... Rumors of King Taron's weakened powers ...
    The author of The Lives of a Cell and The Medusa and the Snail now ...
    The author of The Lives of a Cell and The Medusa and the Snail now raises challenging questions about some of the major issues of our time--AIDS, drug abuse, and aging. With extraordinary perception, he discusses topics such as evolutionary ...